It’s easy to comply with homeschooling laws in Oregon. Here are the basics:
Registering as a Homeschooler
- If your child is not currently enrolled in public school and is under the age of 6 by September 1st of the current year, no action is required.
- If you are withdrawing your child from school, inform the school of your intent to homeschool within 10 days of withdrawal.
- If your child is 6 or older as of September 1st of the current year and you have never registered as a homeschooler, notify your local Educational Service District (ESD) of your intent to homeschool within 10 days of withdrawing the child from school.
In our area, the local ESDs are the Willamette Education Service District and the Linn Benton Lincoln County Education Service District. For others in Oregon, find your ESD on the Oregon Department of Education website.
You may Submit your registration online in the Willamette, Columbia Gorge, Multnomah, NW Regional ESDs. Otherwise, you need to notify your ESD by letter.
Here is a sample letter from OHEN.
You may use any curriculum as a homeschooler in Oregon. In fact, you are not required to use a curriculum at all!
If you are curious about what standards are being taught to in the public system, review the Common Core State Standards.
- Standardized testing requirements begin 18 months after the child is registered as a homeschooler.
- Testing is required in grades 3, 5, 8, and 10, before August 15th. (tip: Grade level may be set at first or second the year the child turns 7 by September 1st. If you wish to delay testing, set the grade level at first.)
- Testing must be performed by an authorized tester. During testing season, watch local homeschool groups for many options!
- Keep your child’s test scores on file, but do not submit them to the ESD unless they are requested.
For more details, see relevant sections of ORS Chapter 339 and OAR 581-021.